Barrier Islands

From the CBBT bridge, heading North...

There are 14 uninhabited Barrier Islands and multiple natural area preserves/wildlife management areas. 

According to the Barrier Islands Center, "along the seaside of Virginia's Eastern Shore are a chain of uninhabited barrier islands, stretching from Assateague Island at the Maryland border, to Fisherman's Island at the foot of the Chesapeake Bay Bridge Tunnel. These 23 shifting islands of sand, as well as a swath of marshland and lagoons, constitute one of the longest undeveloped stretches of shoreline on the East Coast."

Fisherman Island
Smith Island
Myrtle Island
Ship Shoal Island
Mockhorn Island Wildlife Management Area
Wreck Island
Little Cobb Island
Cobb Island
Hog Island
Revel Island
Parramore Island
Cedar Island
Metompkin Island
Assawoman Island
Wallops Island
Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge
Assateague Island

Who owns the Virginia's Barrier Islands?

Eastern Shore of Virginia 

The Nature Conservancy's Virginia Coast Reserve

Dept. of Game and Inland Fisheries

Dept. of Conservation and Recreation

National Aeronautics and Space Administration Wallops Flight Facility